Brixton is represented by three Members of Parliament: Helen Hayes MP, Kate Hoey MP and Chuka Umunna MP.

Brixton is part of the Lambeth & Southwark division on the London Assembly, represented by Val Shawcross CBE.

On Lambeth Council, Brixton is divided into several wards:

  • Brixton Hill: Cllr Florence Eshalomi, Cllr Adrian Garden, Cllr Martin Tiedemann
  • Coldharbour: Cllr Donatus Anyanwu, Cllr Rachel Heywood, Cllr Matt Parr
  • Ferndale: Cllr Paul McGlone, Cllr Sally Prentice, Cllr Neil Sabharwal
  • Herne Hill: Cllr Michelle Agdomar, Cllr Jim Dickson, Cllr Jack Holborn
  • Tulse Hill: Cllr Ade Aminu, Cllr Mary Atkins, Cllr Marcia Cameron
  • Vassall: Cllr Jacqui Dyer, Cllr Paul Gadsby, Cllr Annie Gallop